Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bird-Jones Problems?

So, I'm still relatively new to practical astronomy and only got around to buying my first scope in the summer. I like to research anything I buy to the tiniest detail, so much so that my wife is surprised I ever get around to buying anything. But it seems my research missed an important piece of information here, that I seem to have purchased a bird-jones scope:

https://www.telescopehouse.com/bresser-reflector-pollux-6-150-1400-reflector-on-eq-2.html

So far I haven't experienced any particular problems with it but have read recently that this scope design will inherently result in poor views and longer term issues. Is this something I should be particularly worried about in the short term? Likelihood is a medium term plan to get this kit on ebay and pick up a replacement from FLO.

Edited version:

Even if made of good quality components. Bird Jones Newtonians are difficult to collimate. There are Youtube videos showing how to go about this. We never recommend these telescopes. A simple parabolic Newtonian is a better choice.

Edited by Ruud
  • Thanks 1

I think the biggest problem you will find is the EQ-2 mount and tripod, which could be a little unsteady, the other problem you will find is that they are difficult to collimate as there is a Barlow lens in the focuser, preventing a collimation tool from being properly inserted.  My advice is to make the most of this new toy and get some viewing experience in so that you will know where to go next.  Clear skies!

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

It looks like you already got one?

Nothing wrong with the design itself. It has certain characteristics much like any other design out there. With this design however, it proved that low cost implementations are plagued with poor execution of the design. Not the fault of the design but rather of manufacturing process and attention to detail.