Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Motorized telescope for middle school!

Hello fellow stargazers! I'm more of a lurker on this site, but the time has come where I need to ask some advice!

I'm an earth science teacher with a lot of astronomy experience, just not much with motorized mounts. We're looking to put a telescope on the roof of our school.

We've picked out a motorized observatory for a telescope, but we'd like a telescope that can be controlled via computer so we can control it from the classroom. We would more than likely need tracking software and such. Our school is pretty new, so when it was being designed we had tubing put in that leads to the roof for this reason, so cords will not be an issue. The observatory can hold up to a 10" telescope based on its side.

Do any of you know of anything that would fit these needs? I can think of some telescopes that I really like, but I'm out of my element when it comes to motorized tracking.

Thank you so much!

James

Here's some very good well priced mounts which would be ideal for a school observatory. Either of these would allow you to have remotely controlled operation and would be fine for visual/astrophotography. 

SkyWatcher AZEQ6-GT

iOptron CEM 120

Depending on your budget there are less expensive options and as always more expensive :)   If you want a mount and telescope package then maybe something like Meade or Celestron would be worthwhile exploring . 

Meade LX 90 ACF

Celestron  Nextstar Evolution 8