Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher heritage Virtuoso 90

Hi.i am new to sky gazing and have just ordered my first telescope. The skywatcher heritage Virtuoso 90.

I was just wondering what other optics I could order to make it better  apart from the basic ones that come with the telescope. Also I was wondering what tripod are available for the telescope  since I read it had a 3 18 on the bottom of it.

Information would be greatly appreciated. Can't wait to start

Hi Gordon and a warm welcome to the SGL. The Virtuoso is a nice first scope. I am sure you will enjoy it. As for eyepieces, use the ones supplied for a bit until you are familiar with your new scope. Then you will have a better idea of what you might require. I have only seen the scope used with the table top mount so I can not help there. The main thing is to get out and enjoy your scope.

• Like 2

Hi Gordon, and welcome to the SGL. I have this system, and it is a very good table-top Dobsonian mount.

It does have a 3/8" - 16 UNC internal thread in the central section of the base, but would need a thread adaptor if you use a normal photographic tripod. However, it is much more stable if used on a small table. I use mine on a 60cm diameter glass-top patio table. It is much more stable than my tripod-mounted systems.

To get the widest views, I use a 32mm Plossl eyepiece. The MCT optical tube also works well with my Celestron 8-24 mm zoom. This gives me adjustable magnification; and thus select the optimum  magnification / image clarity compromise for the best view, particularly for the planets.

An excellent starter package, in my opinion the best of the table top offerings.  A zoom eyepiece would be a good optional extra as already mentioned but get used to the telescope first.  I went for the larger 114mm option as I already had a 90mm Maksutov which will fit as an alternative.   Welcome to SGL.   😀 

• Like 1