Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

SkyWatcher heritage 130p help required please.

Hi there people, 

Firstly can I say what a joy it has been reading and learning from some great posts by your community. 

My question (as a complete newbie) has probably been asked and answered many times before but some posts are quite old so I hope that you don't mind me re-asking in case there are more upto date answers.

Ok, I am looking at purchasing the SkyWatcher heritage 130p as I want a portable telescope to take to South Africa with me and after reading the forums it seems like a good option. I will be there for a few months including being next to the Kruger National Park where light pollution will be at an absolute minimum so I am hoping for good results . 

I have read that a 150mm would obviously be preferable but is there one that is portable  ?? I carry very little luggage so I can accommodate a reasonable size perhaps upto around 10 kilos or so if such a scope exists and would fit into a case that can go into cargo or would this be a no-no ?

If there are any options please can someone advise. 

If I do end up with the 130p then I will have a budget of upto £150 to get any additional equipment (ie :- eyepieces) that may be required or would I be better of spending £300(approx) on a different scope with little to no budget for extras ? My intention initially and perhaps ultimately with a travel-scope would be observing the planets only and would obviously like as much planetary detail as feasibly possible but I certainly don't expect Hubble like images !

I have intentions of purchasing a larger scope at a later date for home use so it really is just about a portable telescope at this stage. 

Can I say many thanks already in anticipation of some quality feedback from you lovely people !!

Laurence