SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Sesto Senso

I've been imaging with a SW ED80 for nearly a couple of years now, using a DSLR with the stock focusser with no issues.  I've heard stories of the stock focuser slipping for some people with heavier imaging equipment (mono camera + filter wheel) which is something I want to upgrade to in the not too distant future. 

Something I am also looking at getting soon is the Sesto Senso Autofocuser, and I was wondering, do these help with the prevention of focuser slippage at all? I want to avoid focuser upgrade if at all possible because I would rather invest the money into an Esprit which is a scope I want to buy at some point.

Edited by scitmon
  • Like 2

I use a Sesto Senso on an Esprit 120ED, and previously on a Quattro reflector.  It works well.

However, I think you'll find that Crayford focus slip is not anything to do with how firmly you can hold the focus control, but all about the focuser tube slipping on the control shaft.  So a motor, per se, may not help.

The ultimate should be a quality rask and pinion, but that costs!  Also, I recently noticed that Primaluce Labs now do an integrated motor/focuser, the Essato...

https://www.primalucelab.com/astronomy/focusers/esatto-2-robotic-microfocuser.html

Tony

• Thanks 1

I have just taken delivery of one of these to fit to my new Esprit 100 but not yet fitted (maybe tonight I will find time) so cannot give any definite answer but my other auto focuser is very good at holding focuser position and that is with a timing belt.

However, even the best auto focuser will not really help with slop in the focuser so if the issue is just slippage then I would say it would help but if there is play or slop then it would not help.

Also @AKB makes a very good point about the slippage being due to the tube slipping due to overcomming the friction in the mechanism and really requiring a rack and pinion.