SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

H O O processing

Hi all, first attempt at Ha Oiii processing, have to admit I got in a real mess !

I used Ha as R Oiii as G and a mix of both as B.

Any tips on making the synthetic 3rd colour ?

I have Photoshop CS6 and a trial version of Pixinsight (so complicated)

Thanks

Soul_HOO_180mins-01.jpeg

• Like 4

40 minutes ago, knobby said:

I used Ha as R Oiii as G and a mix of both as B.

Interesting! A very good first attempt at HOO.

You can do exactly as the name implies and map R:G:B - Ha:O:O but I find that gives a very 'red' final result which I don't like so much.

I am no expert but I thought a more common approach was Ha:R - Ha+OIII:G - OIII:B but I may be wrong. I usually go 30% or 40% Ha in the G with 70% or 60% OIII. I've always put 100% OIII in Blue. I guess at the end of the day you can do what you like as long as you are pleased with the result.

In PixInsight I use PixelMath exactly as above:

R - Ha

G - (0.3*Ha)+(0.7*OIII)

B - OIII

1219367372_Screenshot2019-10-0313_17_00.png.acf6fe0d7c9e4dab4dc5c32c85ae3fbf.png

If you use the expression editor it is easier to enter the formula for R, G and B.

Also, if you double-click on the identifier at the side of the image you can type in a shorter image name, like "Ha" which makes using PixelMath easier.

HTH

Adrian

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, vlaiv said:

Hm, point of HOO is it's title, isn't it?

Ha - red 100%, O - green 100%, O - blue 100%

Absolutely agree but dabbled as I thought that using the same data for G and B would be very Bi coloured so tried mixing.

1 minute ago, knobby said:

Absolutely agree but dabbled as I thought that using the same data for G and B would be very Bi coloured so tried mixing.

Any sort of mix of only two sources will be very Bi colored :D