Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hello from the South East, England.

madMARTYNmarsh

Hello there.

I am from Ashford in Kent.

In August I bought my first telescope, a Skywatcher 200p. It was a birthday present for my 38th.

Last week I bought the synscan upgrade.... I have no idea what I am doing and I'm a slow learner these days (I take a high dosage of opioid painkillers as I have a nervous system disorder) but I am slowly working things out although I have encountered a few confusing things so I am attending an astronomical society this Friday for the first time, to get some assistance.

I bought a set of Antares eye pieces from ebay, I'm happy with them, they're markedly better than the eye pieces that came with the scope and only cost around £80 for 4 eye pieces and a good barlow lense as well as some attachments for astrophotography.

I'm not sure what else to include. 

Clear skys.

• Like 3

Hi and welcome to SGL. I'm still fairly new to the whole thing, but you will find this place to be a bastion of help and advise - I know I do!! Is your 200p the dob, or is it on an EQ mount?

Good shout on attending an Astro club - I am doing the same thing tomorrow for the first time!

• Thanks 1

Hi and welcome

I have been here a while but tend to read rather than post as I am not very experienced you will find that this is a very friendly forum and members give advice on a wide range of topics.

good luck on your new  adventure

muddy

• Thanks 1

Hi Martyn and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

30 minutes ago, madMARTYNmarsh said:

...I'm not sure what else to include. 

You could get a red cycle light to preserve your night vision, when looking at a star atlas/chart. Even the 'cheapies' from Poundland, .99p Store, etc., will do.

Edited by Philip R
  • Like 1

Welcome to SGL the 200p is a Great scope lots out there to see get a good book i.e Turn left at Orion.

Go to this address and download the right manual for your mount.