Narrowband

Powering HEQ5PRO and Laptop 'in the field'...

Hi

Looking for guidance and advice... as in title. I've seen a few threads about portable supplies.

I am fairly new to this, and image from my front driveway (with lots of light pollution), and am now looking to go further afield. I am only likely to be imaging for a few hours, and have a rather old ACER laptop that holds charge fpr about 2 hours. Is the following likely to power my HEQ5PRO, and help out the laptop over the period of up to five hours? From what I can see, the mount requires about 2A, and the laptop is 65W max.

TalentCell PB240A1 Rechargeable 22400mAh 82.88Wh Lithium ion Battery Pack with 3 Port Output (DC 24/12V and 5V USB)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/TalentCell-PB240A1-Rechargeable-22400mAh-82-88Wh/dp/B07CBVKJ8X/ref=sr_1_4?m=A2HBRWDIXVHM77&qid=1569264538&s=merchant-items&sr=1-4

I really do need a bit of a reserve for the laptop running APT and PHD2; otherwise I would be looking at the Skywatcher/Celestron supplies.

Any ideas?

Many thanks in advance.

Stephen

• Like 1

Better of with LiIon battery from point of view of weight and ability to maintain steady voltage rather than drop slowly, the big power tanks have LA batteries which are OK if looked after but then you're also paying for a fancy case / light etc.

Some of these manufacturers tend to exaggerate the battery capabilities.

I use a 24ah Tracer LifPo battery that runs everything all night and keeps the laptop fully charged.

Dave

Your laptop is the big consumer in this case with 65 W... 
The battery pack is 82,88 Wh, that means it can run your laptop at full capacity for just over an hour.

Other equipment as you state is 2A @ 12V means 24 Wh, so in fact you will be out of power quite fast. No chance for 5 hours use...
the mount won't use 2A constantly, only with max slew on both axes, but still 5 hours is impossible. You will get 3-4 hours of use out of it max.