Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Explorer 150 pl

Guest Derek S

Hello i am new to astronomy and bought a Skywatcher explorer 150pl,the scope i am happy with,the eyepieces not so sure.Scope came with a 10 a 25 and a 2xBarlow first two are fine the barlow appears to do nothing at all,now are the eye pieces supplies just srandard stock,i do not mind replacing them but not with expensive ones,and ideas on this be appreciated.Other queery hope this is the right place for this i have a Canon sx540 bridge camera fixed lens,so i bought a badder digiscopy adaptor,all i get is a blur or nothing at all plus a ton of vignetting,i can not zoom out as this camera has a huge zoom on it to long for the adaptor,any help wil be appreciated

Hi Derek,

I also have the SW 150-PL , so hopefully can answer at least some of your questions!

The 10mm and 25mm eyepieces sound like the standard ones that come with the scope. The Barlow on mine works fine - the Barlow should have a lens screwed into the bottom of it. I find i spend most of my time with the 25mm in the focuser. I only use the 10mm and Barlow on planets or the moon. Just too much mag for anything else! I am hoping to upgrade the eyepieces at some point to some wider field of view jobs, but for now they will do me.

Can't help you with the camera question I'm afraid, as not familiar with that camera or the attachment you mention - sorry!

Hi Nigeyboy  thanks for replying yes they are the lens that come with the scope.You said Barlow should have a lens screwed in to the bottom of it,do you mean a lens droped into the top of it.As for the camera i got a feeling it is unsuitable might have to buy a used DSLR body.My camera is pictured below it has a very powerfull zoom but  a fixes lens

download.jpg

Hi Derek