SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Distance Learning Courses

I've been considering taking on a course to gain a recognised qualification in either Astronomy or Cosmology and wondered if anyone here had experience of a distance learning course?

If so, which institution, what did you study, what were the costs and how did you find it?

I have a degree in an unrelated subject (Surveying) so would probably be looking at undergraduate level as the highest realistic starting point.

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.

Hi,

I am not sure what your circumstances are such as working full time, retired or somewhere in between. For what it is worth I have just completed the Open University course S177 Galaxies, Stars and Planets. It is a module, cost c£500 and ran from April to September. It needed c8 hours per week study time.

The reason I took the course was to get a grounding of the science behind what I was observing. There is a little bit of maths involved and some use of Aladin - imaging software. Overall I found it fun and gave me a better appreciation of what I am observing.

There is an end of module assessment which I have just completed involving short essays, math calculations and observational work.

The course is run on a distance learning basis with as much or less contact with the tutors as you need. There is a text book to work through which is also accessible online via iPad etc.

John

• Like 3