Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with SHO processing - data included - Heart Nebula

I have some Ha Oiii and Sii data for the same target.

I've never had this before so I'm new to this type of processing.

The Oiii and Sii data is challenging.

What figures are we trying to match in the 3 three stacks before combining?  Is it background brightness or what exactly?

Anyone fancy taking a look at it you have nothing better to do?  I've attached the aligned stacks of Oiii and Sii, plus my processed Ha data.  

Here is my attempt after an hour of processing it in PS.  I'm not sure how to improve, maybe I'm still too far off for help :)

CS

Adam.

HSO-WIP.jpg

IC1805-Ha.tif IC1805-Oiii.tif IC1805-Sii.tif

• Like 4

I don't tend to try match these type of images as the signal is often pretty poor from the Oiii and Sii channels.

I just process each the best I can and then combine.

This is what I got with your data.

IC1805-SHO.png

Ah, I didn't do a great job of cropping the top edge, but you get the idea.

Carole 

Edited by carastro
  • Like 2

Just now, carastro said:

I don't tend to try match these type of images as the signal is often pretty poor from the Oiii and Sii channels.

I just process each the best I can and then combine.

This is what I got with your data.

IC1805-SHO.png

Honestly Carole that's about 10^6 times better.   How does the Ha data look?  The other data is really really bad.

Ha data is not bad at all, Oiii and Sii was very noisy, so each got a bit of filter/despeckle, and then once I had combined the SHO I blurred the image to obliterate the noise and then replaced the Ha over the top for a 2nd time increasing the coloured layer in curves to compensate for the washed out appearance the Ha (as luminance) gave.

Carole 

• Thanks 1

53 minutes ago, Jkulin said: