SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Moving from DSLR to CCD any tips?

Lehtojj

Hi 

So I'm taking the leap and moving from imaging with a stock DSLR to a mono CCD and I'm asking for your help.

I bought a second hand Atik one 6.0 with Baader narrowband filters and I will also be getting the LRGB filters as soon as possible, but may have to start with NB. I have also ordered a ZWO ASI 120mm mini as a guide camera for my 9x50 finder scope. Previously I have only managed 90s unguided subs (with round stars) so autoguiding will be new to me as well. I'm planning on using PHD2 for guiding and APT for imaging (or Artemis capture, if APT doesn't work with the camera). I do have a laptop.

My current setup is:

Skywatcher EQ6 mount

Skywatcher Evostar 80ed DS-pro

Canon 600D stock

As I am just a beginner, I would be grateful for any advice and tips for getting started with CCD imaging, and with the software as well. I have been reading alot about CCD cameras and my head is spinning with all the new information. :)

Here is a picture of M42 taken in February (stock Canon 77D). 16 x 90s lights + darks, flats, bias. Stacked in DSS, processed in Photoshop.

Clear skies!

J

M42_1.png

• Like 4

Excellent M42. You should make a seamless transition to CCD and you have a super camera.

Personally I love Artemis Capture and would highly recommend it.

PHD2 is very painless. I would take a dark for the guide camera, follow the instructions and run the Guiding Assistant to refine calibration. Guide focus should be 'about right' but PHD actually prefers a slightly soft focus.

In NB I suggest you try different exposure lengths but in our similar Atik 460 we generally use 15 minute subs. I would say the camera will need darks, particularly if it isn't able to cool to -20.

Have fun!

Olly

• Thanks 1