Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Does Deep Sky Stacker Produce HDR type output from wide ranging exposures ?

Stickfarm8

Greetings !

As I am learning (repeatedly !) to trust the histogram in the image capture software (BackyardEOS) a question comes to mind. Because my Photoshop skills at image processing still leave a lot to be desired I haven't been able to resolve this question based on actual imaging.

I have a lot of experience with HDR photography - particularly in aircraft museum settings, where you do a +2EV, 0 EV, -2EV image and merge the three together to get the wider dynamic range. My question is - if I do something similar with my exposures - say 300 sec, 180 sec and 120 sec, and stack thru Deep Sky Stacker - does it generate produce a similar effect as the HDR software I would use so that I can capture the spiral bands and the core in a wider range? 

In other words if the 300 sec exposure results in Andromeda's core being over exposed, but the detail in the band showing nicely, will the 120 second exposure compensate for the core overexposed in the 300 second exposure resulting in balanced image ? Or do I have to do this by merging the TIFFs produced of each exposure (3 tiffs - 300 sec, 180 sec, 120 sec) separately outside of DSS ?

Any help will be appreciated !!

Unless it has an hdr setting, dss will calculate the average of all three exposures. In true hdr, you want the best out of each exposure, not just their average. What you probably should do is create a master for each exposure, aligned against one single reference. Then you do hdr composition in photoshop or any other processing software. I know that Pixinsight has a process for this,  I'm not sure about other astro imaging software.