Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First Time Mirror Clean

I've owned optics for decades and have cleaned front elements many times, but never, until now, a mirror.

A year or so ago I bought off @neil phillips his 300p Newtonian, and I must say I think it's a rather good mirror. He mentioned when I took it off him that "it holds collimation very well" and he was right. I've had three consecutive observing sessions, full removal from and attachment to mount each time, when I've not needed to adjust anything, using a Cheshire collimator.

It lives here in SW Ireland, and I'd resolved after a year to at least inspect the primary and see if it looked as though it needed a clean. There's been a bit of work done on the house here, bringing mucho dust, and there are also lots of spiders. Needless to say, once I'd removed it, there was evidence of much spider-action! I have no prior experience of whether mirrors need cleaning or not, but I judged this one was just the right side of spider-webbed and dusty that it could do with one?

A couple of rinses in detergent-water and eventual careful application of cotton-wipes rendered it more or less pristine. The final image below still shows a couple of stubborn spider-silk threads, but I let those go. It'll be interesting to see how it "views" when the clouds clear next...

Magnus

_MG_8266.jpg

_MG_8268.jpg

_S7A3576.jpg

_S7A3579.jpg

_S7A3588.jpg

Edited by Captain Magenta
  • Like 5

3 minutes ago, Captain Magenta said:

quite tough and impervious

I do think that cleaning telescope mirrors sometimes being regarded with fear is unnecessary, perhaps being “ quite tough and impervious “ a bit overstating it, if you don’t mind me saying so 😐 although you did mention to avoid scratching.