SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Would a computerized scope be better

I have an 8" apertura Dobsonian and altho I finally did get the collimation understood and done, I still am having problems with actually locating objects in the sky. My last question I asked on here was about the finderscope alignment, and I understand better what I need to do now, thanks to a reply I received, and watching a video. If I were to sell this one, and get for example a celestron se 6 or 8 (may be out of my budget tho) Schmidt-Cassegrain computerized, would that really keep me from being so frustrated doing these searches, because the computer will do it for me, once I locate 2-3 major objects in the sky and put them into the computer? If the telescope is put away, and I take it back out again, will that computer know where to find the same objects for me again on its own, if I do have the telescope level? I am a beginner, and honestly, I feel this dobsonian has been a pain with all the collimation necesssary, and the weight especially, being I always have to take it apart in 2 pieces and carry them around. I thought of a cart or wheels on a base, but still I have the issue of the bulk and weight. I'd like some opinions please. Almost thinking if maybe I should give up this hobby, due to the frustrations. Would I also have to be doing collimations on that celestron type too? Thankyou for your advice and thoughts.

Edited by startreker1
  • Sad 1