Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Evostar 72ED help

Hi, 

I'm considering getting a Skywatcher Evostar 72ED for deep sky imaging. I'm new to astrophotography although I have been using a 200pds on an EQ5 for visual for some time. I plan to use the 72ED with my Canon 1000d. I've read loads of reviews on the scope and I'm a little confused. 

I'd really appreciate some help with the following:

1. Do I need to add a 2inch adapter to take my cannon? 

2. Will I be able achieve focus or do I need another adapter 

3.is there a dedicated or recommend field flatner for the 72ED and if so how will this effect the set up. 

In short, before I buy the scope I need to calculate what else I'll need to make it work 

Finally, with a budget of around £250 is there a good alternative. Ive considered the Skywatcher 102, but was concerned about chromatic aberration. 

Thanks for your help 

Kind regards 

Simon 

Edited by Simon Dunsmore
Error

Hi Simon

I was in the exact same situation about 10 years ago when I first got into astrophotography. I bought a WO Megrez 72mm from Ian King which looks very similar in specifactions to the Skywatcher 72ED. I needed to get an 2"extender to achieve focus with my Canon 450D. Ian recommended trying the Skywatcher non reducing field flattener. It is sold under a few different brands now and works with scopes form F5.5 to F6

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/reducersflatteners/ovl-field-flattener.html

It worked really well and also solved the extender problem so only one purchase required. I have had some decent results using this set up (see below). It is only half the price of a dedicated field flattener. Your Canon camera T adapter screws into the field flattener directly. I am looking to get a dedicated field flattener / reducer for my new Zenithstar 103 though as it is at F6.9

Stick with 72ED over the 102 achromat for astrophotography. You won't notice the aperture difference and your images will be much better