Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Ruud

Moon - from Herschel to Arzachel

9 August was a good night for the Moon, so I studied the region from Ptolemaeus to Arzachel at 231x. Especially Alpertragius stood out, with its oversized central mound. It has been suggested that this is a volcanic feature. Herschel too was quite prominent.

1086651913_Aug09_21UTklein.thumb.png.cdfbe68c2969a697b5867137e759a83e.png
Thanks for watching.

Edited by Ruud
  • Like 11

Gorgeous sketch, Ruud. Absoluetly outstanding detail which almost jumps from the screen. Skies this evening looked wonderful. Almost as if the Moon had its own moon what with Jupiter tagging along behind 🙂

• Thanks 1

Excellent skills. 

• Thanks 1

Hi Ruud, No surprise that we were both looking at this area - never ceases to fascinate. Interesting to compare the features we saw and how we draw them. Mike

• Thanks 1

Hi Ruud,

that's a great sketch! Thanks for sharing with us.

Clear skies

Achim

• Thanks 1

Wow - very nice Ruud - brings back some memories for me as this was really the first area of the moon that I really dug into and observed for a length of time.

Thank you!

• Thanks 1

Thank you guys! It's my most ambitious one so far and I'm really glad you like it. It took me hours to paint, but I ended up with five big, happy craters and a few perky little ones. I'm very happy with how it all turned out.

@KingNothing13 

I suppose I feel the same about this region, Brett, especially because it has Alpertragius, my favourite crater on the Moon. But I've had many favourites. For example Atlas and Hercules. I discovered them when I was twelve, with my binoculars.

Edited by Ruud
  • Like 1

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment