Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Idiots guide to Radio Astronomy?

Where can I find a true Idiots guide to Radio Astronomy?

I belong to the BAA and have looked at this resource as well as on this forum.
I am looking as a real technophobe and with no radio knowledge at present.

It needs to be very simples like me so I can understand the basics.

Edited by Alan White

How simple does it need to be?

Quick search gave this, and it looks like fairly basic level:

http://www.radio-astronomy.org/pdf/sara-beginner-booklet.pdf

I'm no expert in Radio Astronomy (far from it), but it is interesting topic, and I've done some research (and thinking about it) myself, so I could possibly be able to answer some basic questions.

Thank You @vlaiv

It needs to be really simple to start.
Simpler  or perhaps less wordy than the link you posted.

I find longer more technical articles offputting to read and glaze over by the third page.
Perhaps this route might not be for me?

Do you just plan to get basic understanding on the matter, or are you interested in doing some radio astronomy?

Radio astronomy is one of those fields of astronomy that you can't simply have "hands on" approach like observing. You need at least some level of technical background to be able to understand what you are doing. Results of radio observations are often just measurements of sorts - graphs and charts, rather than anything you can instantly see or take a photo of.

You can produce images, but it is rather complicated, and as amateur with any sort of gear that amateur can house and operate - it will be very low resolution type of the image, so you can in principle only do "wide field" images - like that of Milky way.

• Thanks 1

In that PDF that I linked, there are couple of projects that are worth looking up to see what is involved.