Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

Stickfarm8

Hello From US !

Greetings everyone !

I'm new to astrophotography - but not new to photography or astronomy. My father started teaching me fundamentals when I was in my early teens, and also started my interest in astronomy by frequently taking the family up to Mount Palomar (we lived in San Diego at the time).  Getting into astrophotography, as I get close to retiring from engineering, is allowing me to bring the two hobbies into one. My wife has been very supportive of this adventure - she started Grandpa's Telescope Fund several years ago which made shopping for me on birthdays, Fathers Day, and Christmas very, very easy.  I've done a lot of research (engineers can be VERY anal !!)  and I was almost ready this past spring to go down the road with what I thought would have been a great setup. But thank goodness after ordering the book Making Every Photon Count, the author has been very kind in giving me some recommendations which I had the good sense to consider.  He also recommended this forum as a good place to learn and ask questions.

I'm still very early on the learning curve - but my wife and I are having a great time learning - and even dealing with the inevitable frustrations. 

I noticed that FLO is a sponsor of this site. I purchased the Lynx Astro cable for connecting my EQ mount to the PC directly, bypassing the SynScan hand controller. The service on that order was excellent and even with DHL shipping, the cost was competitive with pricing for a similar cable from the only vendor here in the US that the retailer I purchased the mount and scope had recommended.

Rich

• Like 2