sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_annual.thumb.jpg.3fc34f695a81b16210333189a3162ac7.jpg

Centaurus A Galaxy NGC 5128 aka The Hamburger Galaxy captured on the 18th of March last year with an 83% illuminated moon, conditions average to poor from Mandurah Western Australia. This is my second attempt at this galaxy, this time with a 6" achro frac. The first attempt was terrible with my previously owned C8i on it's alt az mount. I did have some slight drift and getting good collimation seems to be elusive with this older refractor. It also gives bad blue rings around brighter stars which is very annoying and difficult to get rid of.

I've only been doing DSO astrophotography seriously for about 18 months when the sky allows and I'm no expert at this DSO bizzo but content with my progression so far, I'm always learning new things and enjoying it immensely.

189 x 30 seconds, ISO 1600, 24 darks.

Aligned and stacked in Sequator, edited in PaintDotNet and a rework tonight to tidy things up a little more in Fitswork. The second image is a 75% full res crop with less editing to try to bring out some central detail that's usually washed out.

Sony a5000
Antares 6" achromatic reflector, fl 990mm, f/6.6
SkyWatcher EQ6 Pro

162958554_CentaurusAGalaxy-DavidJohnson-APWAFitswork.png.06503d014c74ceb4856af54e14103608.png

1315195297_CentaurusAGalaxyTest275pCropLATESTWIP.png.dcc347b5fe642dabad139d74858940db.png

• Like 5

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

• Similar Content

• By Aussie Dave
      Around midnight I captued the 100% illuminated moon with a Saxon 10" Newtonian reflector and Sony a5000.