Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Gain - Astrophotography Tools

Hi,

I hope someone can help me, I'm writing this whilst banging head on the table as I've waisted 8 hours taking Darks..

I've recently bought a Zwo 1600MM Cool And I have been learning APT as I've never used it before.

I have been making a Darks Library, over the past 24 hours I've created one set of Darks at Gain 139, this morning I set up APT to do a sequence of Darks at Gain 200.  In order to set the Gain to 200 I opened up Settings under Camera in APT and adjusted the slider to Gain to 200 and pressed OK.  Everything appeared to be working correctly.

Having set up the imaging plan I went out and have just returned to find that every Dark taken today has a Gain of 139 and not 200. 

I've run a check and each time I set the Gain to 200 and run a sequence for Darks the images taken have a gain of 139 and in the camera settings the gain has gone from 200 to 139.

I've checked that the Manage Gain box in Settings is ticked.

I know I'm doing something wrong in APT but I can't figure out what it is.

Can anyone help so I don't waste anymore time.

Thanks

Doug

1 hour ago, Doug64 said:

Hi,

I hope someone can help me, I'm writing this whilst banging head on the table as I've waisted 8 hours taking Darks..

I've recently bought a Zwo 1600MM Cool And I have been learning APT as I've never used it before.

I have been making a Darks Library, over the past 24 hours I've created one set of Darks at Gain 139, this morning I set up APT to do a sequence of Darks at Gain 200.  In order to set the Gain to 200 I opened up Settings under Camera in APT and adjusted the slider to Gain to 200 and pressed OK.  Everything appeared to be working correctly.

Having set up the imaging plan I went out and have just returned to find that every Dark taken today has a Gain of 139 and not 200.