SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Pentax XL 8-24mm Zoom

Makro

Hi,

Has any one used the Pentax XL 8-24mm zoom? Couldn't find any posts on this in the forum? I am looking at buying it so any reviews would be helpful

Many thanks

p.s. would be looking to use it with a Skywatcher 12" dob.

p.p.s. I am very new to the hobby, but wanted to see if i could save money (and also fiddling around!) with different eyepeices by getting a good general purpose zoom.

Appreciative of any useful information on this topic

Hi and welcome to the forum.

There are users of that eyepiece on the forum. Here is a thread from a little while back:

https://stargazerslounge.com/topic/275524-first-light-review-pentax-smc-8-24-zoom-eyepiece/

Other candidates are the Baader 8-24mm zoom which gets a lot of plaudits on forums, rightfully so.

Currently one of my most used eyepieces is a 7.2mm - 21.5mm zoom which also works very well with a barlow lens to give a high power zoom facility:

https://stargazerslounge.com/topic/317641-happy-coincidence/

With my 12 inch dob I tend to use fixed focal length ultra-wide angle eyepieces more often but the zoom does get used in that scope as well. Most zooms have quite a narrow field of view at the longer focal length which widens as the focal length shortens so some folks like a low power / wider angle eyepiece as well as the zoom in their eyepiece case.

• Like 1

You might also perform a google search against Cloudy Nights for the Pentax XL (SMC) zoom.  Apparently, it's good, but not great like the Leica and Zeiss spotting scope zooms.  I personally like the Celestron Regal or Olivon spotting scope eyepiece.  If you're in the US, MASILMW sells Olivon blems with the magnification numbers reversed for $65 shipped to the CONUS.  They're a major step up from the basic 8-24mm zooms from Celestron/Meade/Zhumell/etc. for about the same money.

• Like 1