Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

No detail on Jupiter

Hi, complete beginner here :) first night out with my new Skywatcher Evostar 90, and managed to focus on Jupiter n saw 4 moons, which was awesome. But Jupiter itself was only a white ball, and could see some bands, but they were very fuzzy, as if they were out of focus, but I had it as focused as I could. It's been very hot today, could that affect the seeing? The stars don't twinkle too much, but that's pretty much all I can think of, as I believe a 90mm refractor should have enough aperture to resolve detail. Magnification was 180x.  

Hi, welcome to the forum.

Many are having just the same experiences with Jupiter currently.

The planet is very low so the seeing is affected by viewing through lots of atmosphere.

I've been using my 100mm refractor (Takahashi) on the planet over the past 3 nights and found it equally challenging. 180x is too much magnification really - I've found 120x-140x has given crisper views and shows more surface details than 180x or higher.

So it's not your scope, it's the low position of Jupiter and using a bit too much magnification.

Last night was better in terms of seeing conditions than this evening is for me here, just south of Bristol. Tonight I've stuggled to see much even at 100x.

We need to be patient with the planets at present I reckon !

• Like 3

14 minutes ago, greg110902 said:

Hi, complete beginner here :) first night out with my new Skywatcher Evostar 90, and managed to focus on Jupiter n saw 4 moons, which was awesome. But Jupiter itself was only a white ball, and could see some bands, but they were very fuzzy, as if they were out of focus, but I had it as focused as I could. It's been very hot today, could that affect the seeing? The stars don't twinkle too much, but that's pretty much all I can think of, as I believe a 90mm refractor should have enough aperture to resolve detail. Magnification was 180x.  

Hi and welcome Greg.