Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Identifying Jupiter's Galilean moons

Podgebag

Jupiter and it's Galilean moons are great viewing, but as a noob I've never known which moon was which. I've had a quick trawl through this site but haven't found anything obvious to help with this, so thought I'd highlight the following just in case it helps anyone who wants to be able to do this:

https://www.skyandtelescope.com/observing/celestial-objects-to-watch/jupiters-moons-javascript-utility/#

The Jupiter moon simulator is here:

https://s22380.pcdn.co/wp-content/plugins/observing-tools/jupiter_moons/jupiter.html

and covers different types of telescope too.

Apologies if I'm re-hashing old/known info.

• Like 2

Those are useful tools :smiley:

Cartes du Ciel and Stellarium are also useful for this. I've found Cartes du Ciel pretty accurate when it comes to tracking the position of the Great Red Spot as well.

When Jupiter is perhaps better placed than it currently is from the UK, it is possible to see the differences in the actual disk sizes of the Galilean moons with a scope at reasonably high magnification. It's fun to have a go at working out which is which using those visual differences. A couple of them are quite close which adds to the challenge !

• Like 1

Thanks. Have downloaded Cartes du Ciel and it's a bit of a step up from the SkyView mobile app, but looks like a good tool for planning and wandering the skies without having to rotate your phone about. I didn't know that there was an online version of Stellarium at: https://stellarium-web.org which includes a quick summary of when the planets are visible. Nice one!

I'm still getting used to the scope so Jupiter is pretty much my only target at the mo, despite the poor viewing conditions which includes trees, houses, street light out the front and my neighbours thinking I'm spying on them.