Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

USB Control of EQ6-R Pro mount

Hi, I am relatively new to this hobby and have and EQ6-R Pro mount which I would like to be able to control directly from USB. I tried using USB into the socket on the mount - see pic below - but it doesn't work though is fine thru the USB connector on the bottom of the SynScan handset. Manual says the socket is to connect a USB to serial connector but that means I have to go from USB on the PC to serial then back to USB again which seems a bit daft :)  Am I missing something?

It's made worse by the fact that the Type B USB socket would need an adapter to go to a standard USB socket which is what the serial to USB interfaces all seem to want. I can handle the complexity of the cable interfacing but seems to be wires hanging off the OTA etc should be as uncomplicated as possible to avoid tangling around things.

Cheers ... Keith

image.png.b45551bc00c823e07d30492c61b4c9f9.png

Edited by G4EQZ
Spelling corrections

You might wish to go the EQMOD route to telescope control.  This will allow you to dispense with the hand controller altogether.   The input port and guide port are situated together just above the usb port you highlighted. Neither of those ports are usb's 

One is the ST 4 input to enable autoguiding for long exposure astrophotography, the other is the handset control input.

You need to download  the latest Ascom  Platform version, then download the equascom Skywatcher mount driver to enable you to control the telescope from your laptop via a planetarium prog, such as Starry night, or Stellarium.

If you wish to carry on using your handset, you need to use a serial to USB converter, otherwise it will not work.

There is more on this on the forum, and better explanations than mine.  There is nothing wrong with your gear, you just need to understand what is required.

Ron.