SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

I can't see Jupiter

I have a Celestron Astromaster 90. Last night, I went to go see Jupiter, and with the 10mm eyepiece and the *angle lens?* (not sure if that's what it's called, but it's the thing that lets you look through the telescope from any direction other than straight through, mine is at a 90 degree angle) I got a decent image, although I don't have a Barlow, but I was able to discern the larger cloud bands and four moons, but the focuser was almost all the way out. When I took the thing* out, I was unable to focus on Jupiter at all. I could hardly see the moons and Jupiter was a massive white blob. I am an amateur and have no idea what's going on. If anyone knows what's going on and/or how to fix it, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

Hi Gabe

Every scope has a range of focus (the distance from the front of the scope to the eyepiece)  dictated by the in and out movement of the focuser.

In your case the focuser is nearly all the way out with the THING (a diagonal) attached.

If you remove the THING then you've removed a chunk from that distance, the eyepiece is now much closer to the front of the scope.

To get focus back you have to move the focuser that chunk further out, to place the eyepiece back where it was in distance from the front, which you can't do.

So basically you don't remove the diagonal.

Michael

• Like 2

Hey, I second What Micheal said. 

The same thing happens with my 8" Dobsonian. In order to focus my 2" eyepiece, GSO has included an extension along with my scope. Without extending, stuff appears like blobs. So what I would suggest is, instead of adding a diagonal in between (more opticals = less quality), do not fully insert the eyepiece in the focuser barrel. Experiment with the distance. It should work. Let me know.

Regards,

Prabal

• Like 1

Hi @Gabe and welcome to SGL. :hello2: