Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What eyepiece to get? 114mm

Hi everyone!

I have a Celestron Astromaster 114 eq (114/1000mm), and I do use it whenever I can, but I'm still quite the newbie when it comes to observing.

My point is, I'd like to observe the planets, but  I dont't think the standard eyepieces that came with my telescope (10 mm and 20 mm) are powerful enough for that. For reference, the "furthest" I could see were the rings of Saturn , but they were very small and faint too.  

Are there any specific eyepieces you could recommend? :) And of course, any tipps and advice are also very much appreciated.

Thanks, Sophie.

You could buy better eyepieces of higher powers (the BST Starguiders are often recommended) but a set of these would cost a significant amount compared with the original cost of the telescope.

I hate to bring bad news, but I found an independent review of this telescope: https://telescopicwatch.com/celestron-astromaster-114eq-review/  which is very unflattering.  If this is the telescope you have, I suggest that any purchase of eyepieces be made with the replacement of the 114eq by a better telescope kept firmly in mind.

You should moderate your expectations.  Even with my 127mm Maksutov, which I suggest is a much better quality instrument, I could rarely see much planetary detail, and I eventually got more out of it by attaching a planetary camera than I ever saw by eye..

Hi @borapanda/Sophie and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

If you click: Resources --> Astronomy tools --> FOV Calculator that is at the top of the page, that will give you some idea of what to expect. I have attached two screenshots below to give you an idea of what to expect Saturn would look like with your stock e/p's. at the bottom. I think the most practical focal length eyepiece would be 6mm.

738097547_Screenshot(22).thumb.png.6b6c509510b4d5461f60b9af1a9420f3.png

1899422748_Screenshot(24).thumb.png.731dfb9e3fd6e243498c50807386b6c5.png