Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Greetings,

I'm super happy to have found this forum of night sky enthusiasts and look forward to learning and sharing on this site! I am an amateur stargazer fortunate to live in a rural area with great dark skies. I'm used to using a GoTo Celestron.

Unfortunately I'm having a problem with a newly purchased Orion SkyQuest XTg 10. 

I've only used it a couple of times. Recently, when I turn on the power, the hand controller (a SynScan V4 GoTo, version 04.39.04) states a message "Both axes...no response!" which means the motors won't work. 

I've unplugged all the cords & replugged to no avail. The power comes from a new Orion Dynamo Pro, 12 V, Lithium Power Supply which was recommended.

Does anyone have any ideas what the problem might be?

Thank you 🌟

Edited by Bellatrix2

Hi, Bellatrix2, and welcome to SGL.

If it's new, I would firstly contact the shop from which you bought it.

That said, it could be a problem with the handset cable and it might be easier to just get a replacement for that. The problem is, you could do an awful lot of these attempted fixes and get nowhere. So if it's new (and under warranty) then let them do the chasing ...

10 hours ago, Demonperformer said:

Hi, Bellatrix2, and welcome to SGL.

If it's new, I would firstly contact the shop from which you bought it.

That said, it could be a problem with the handset cable and it might be easier to just get a replacement for that. The problem is, you could do an awful lot of these attempted fixes and get nowhere. So if it's new (and under warranty) then let them do the chasing ...

Yes, thank you! I'm contacting them this morning.