SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

how safe is Solar Observing through foil like filters ?

wesdon1

I'm still learning, and there's a question that's been in my mind from day1. How safe are foil like solar filters for solar observing? reason i ask is i'm scared the foil may have microscopic holes or cracks because it crumples/bends etc and some massively magnified light/heat radiation will seep through and fry my retina instantly! I'm not joking, it really frightens me! Would the experienced members recommend a solid state/glass/ceramic type filter instead of film, and can even these develop unforeseen faults and cause instant blindness!?? I really want to see the sun and it's amazing spots and other phenomena but this fear of harm is holding me back. Thanks in advance for any advice, and please forgive me if i sound dramatic or stupid.

The Baader film might actually be safer because it is a double sided filter. Once it's delivered it should be fitted into a permananent ring the size of the scope's aperture so that it undergoes no further crumpling and it should be cared for properly, stored in a box etc. When fitted to the scope it should have permanent ties holding it in place against wind or knocks. It can be easily checked for pinholes and these can be blacked out. They won't show for the same reasons that a secondary mirror doesn't show.

Remember to block finderscopes, Telrads, etc., or you can get a nasty burn at the focal point!

If you really are worried you could try the projection method. Google solar projection and you'll find many ways of doing it.

Olly

• Like 2

8 minutes ago, ollypenrice said: