Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Granulation

Littleguy80

I'm still new to Solar observing and am only observing in white light. I've heard the term granulation which makes me think of lots of small points. I've been observing over lunch and what observe is more like subtle variations across the disc. Lighter and darker areas as opposed to fine points. I don't think is coming from poor seeing. Is this what's described as granulation? My Herschel wedge includes a continuum type filter which I've read makes the granulation more obvious.

12 minutes ago, Littleguy80 said:

I'm still new to Solar observing and am only observing in white light. I've heard the term granulation which makes me think of lots of small points. I've been observing over lunch and what observe is more like subtle variations across the disc. Lighter and darker areas as opposed to fine points. I don't think is coming from poor seeing. Is this what's described as granulation? My Herschel wedge includes a continuum type filter which I've read makes the granulation more obvious.

Neil, I think a more appropriate term for what you are seeing is Macro-granulation. I have Ken (Merlin66) to thank for understanding this more correctly. Basically you are seeing the variation in density of the granulation cells across the surface of the sun.

To properly see the cells themselves requires high power and excellent seeing. If i recall correctly they are around 1 to 2 arc seconds across, so powers of x100 and more help to open them up, similar to a close double star i guess.

I've occasionally had fabulous views at over x200 in the Tak with binoviewers where you can really see the individual cells, and actually see them change over relatively short periods as they don't last that long.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

17 minutes ago, Davey-T said:

As Stu said more visible at higher power, have a look at some WL close ups in the solar imaging section ( Freddies are good examples ) to see how it looks.