Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Unguided exposures with an EQ6-R

Hello,

I'm just starting out with an EQ6-R and an ES 80mm Triplet. After polar-aligning my mount, I'm only getting 30 second exposures before I see significant streaking.

Granted, my polar alignment is a bit rough since I'm rotating my RA axis until I think the polarscope reticle is in a plus-sign orientation (with the counterweight straight down the reticle has a rotation offset). This introduces a small error that might affect the tracking.

I know that an option is to use the syscan polar alignment procedure, but this requires multistar alignment which needs stars near the horizon (and I'm on the patio where my FOV is limited). 

How long of unguided exposures can I expect with this mount/scope when I have perfect polar alignment? 30 seconds seems really short.

Edited by bokchoy ninja

Have you calibrated/centred the polarscope? When I got mine the reticle was loose! I've never actually used it...

With a very good polar align (digital aid via Polemaster or Sharpcap) you should easily get 2/3 minutes unguided as that focal length is forgiving. It's a good mount but still considered "budget". Have you considered guiding? I can easily get 15 minute subs out of my AZEQ6 which is essentially the same internals are the EQ6-R.

1 minute ago, david_taurus83 said:

Have you calibrated/centred the polarscope? When I got mine the reticle was loose! I've never actually used it...

With a very good polar align (digital aid via Polemaster or Sharpcap) you should easily get 2/3 minutes unguided as that focal length is forgiving. It's a good mount but still considered "budget". Have you considered guiding? I can easily get 15 minute subs out of my AZEQ6 which is essentially the same internals are the EQ6-R.

Thanks for the reply. I'm trying to go as far as I can without buying a polemaster or a guiding setup just yet, so just by improving my manual polar alignment technique.