Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Controlling via PC - novice question

Apologies, if this is a repeat of previous questions. I'm completely new to this hobby, and the huge quantity of information available seems to take me off down rabbit-hole after rabbit-hole.

■ Current Setup: Celestron Nexstar 127SLT ■ asus Transformer Mini 4gb win10 laptop ■ 5m miniUSB >> USB-A cable

■ Current Software: Stellarium and cartes du ciel

■ On Order (awaiting delivery):  Equatorial Wedge for Celestron NexStar SLT

Stellarium |Software Questions:

■ how do i set it up to run in permanent windowed mode

■ can i reduce/scale window contents to fit visible window

■ can setup(s) be saved - to load/use again?

Telescope Control:

is there a simple (newbie) guide to

■ config menu

■ setting up the EQ wedge correctly - including polar and star alignment.

■ linking the scope to the laptop and controlling the scope via Stellarium or cartes du ciel. 

■ can config be saved - to load/use again? - ie storing location, EQ North, Long/Lat etc

thanks

I have the same kit. I don't know how you would mount this on a wedge and I really would not try.  The mount is not meant to be tilted. And why do you want to?

Sorry to pour on cold water, but the only reason you would want to use an equatorial wedge is for deep-space astrophotography, for which this mount is not well suited.  People who have used equatorial wedges with the bigger single and twin arm fork mounts seem on the whole not to have found this a happy experience and have turned to using German equatorial mounts.

Feel free to experiment how you want, but if you seriously want to do deep-space astrophotography, read the book "Make Every Photon Count" and think in terms of a heavy equatorial mount with a small short-focal length refractor mounted on it.