Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Is this Saturn pic any good for this time of year?

Hi all,

I have a Nexstar 6SE and am using an unmodded 1200d. Is this pic any good for this time of year, close to Bristol, UK? I am new to planetary imaging and kind of hoped it would be a bit bigger, or I could maybe make out the Cassini division. I know it's not very good this year as the planets are very low. In a few years when they are higher up, will I be able to make out more detail?

Thanks!

Saturn Final Image 12.05.19.png

• Like 4

Its good for a beginners image. Here's what you could do to imrpove it.

1) Wait until it rises to almost right above your head, or as high as it can get.

2) Use cropped video mode on your camera, this way you'll also get the highest frame rate. This will help you with Lucky Imaging, that is getting those tiny good moments between air turbulence.

3) Take a video for about 1 to 1.5 minutes.

4) Use a Barlow of good quality, preferably an ED Barlow.

• Like 1

Given that Saturn barely gets above the horizon at the moment, anything that clearly shows a disc and the rings is a good result! You are shooting through a lot of wobbly light polluted atmosphere when it is that low.

Is this a single frame? If so try stacking multiple frames. I’m new to imaging so I’ll leave it to the experts to advise on stacking.  

Paul

• Like 1

2 hours ago, astrosathya said:

1) Wait until it rises to almost right above your head, or as high as it can get.

2) Use cropped video mode on your camera, this way you'll also get the highest frame rate. This will help you with Lucky Imaging, that is getting those tiny good moments between air turbulence.

3) Take a video for about 1 to 1.5 minutes.

4) Use a Barlow of good quality, preferably an ED Barlow.

Thank you, yes the turbulence was very noticable with my 2X Barlow. It was a short 5 secondish video. 

1 hour ago, Paul73 said: