Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Antoine1997

PC control of the Virtuoso mount sky-watcher

This is my very first time working with a telescope and i'm having trouble connecting my mount to my pc (It seems very easy for you guys, shame on me).

I've followed a lot of threads which helped me a lot on this forum but it still won't work.

This is what I've done:

-I've build a cable RJ12/USB with a USB/TTL chip connecting the Rx to the Tx, the Tx to the Rx and the GND to the GND. (with the adpated  driver which works fine)

-I've installed the Driver "AzGoto by Armazem Do Telescopio"

-I've installed the ASCOM plateform

-I've installed StellariumScope, Stellarium and Skychart

-In both softwares I chose the Driver AZ GOTO, fill in my latitude and longitude and the appropriate port COM

But when I try to connect my telescope, I have to wait over 5 minutes until an error pops up with 'BasicApi.MountControlException"

Do you guys have any idea what's going on ?

Again, these are my first steps into Astronomy.

Thanks you very much.

32 minutes ago, Antoine1997 said:

with the adpated  driver which works fine)

I seem to remember an associate on mine tried to use this driver and he used the Prolific chip which the Brazilian gent recomended. We had awful problems to get this to drive the Virtuoso mount or even find a Prolific driver that worked as the one from he Sourceforge site didn't.

1, Are you using a Prolific chipped USB to TTL component? If so where is he driver coming from.

2. Is the voltage correct for the TTL on he Virtuoso - I cant remember the correct voltage