SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

EQ Polar Alignment Question

Rob Astro

I have a skywatcher HEQ5 pro. My question is after polar alignment I return the mount to the home position, should ploaris be in the center of the eyepice? If it's not, can I release the clutches and get polaris in the centere of the eyepice before starting a 3star alignment with the StynScan hand controler.  I polar align always taking care to level the mount and getting polaris in the correct position on the clock.  I find that when trying to star alingnment the stars are always abou 5 degrees out? I hope im making sense my concern is, Is my polar scope and telescope not in line with each other? Thanks for any help.

Edited by Rob Astro
typo

I am fairly new to all this but as far as I am aware you are aligning the centre of the RA axis with North Central Pole point (NCP). As Polaris is slightly off this point I guess depending on the FOV of the lens you have attached you may not be able to see polaris at all in your main telescope directly after polar alignment, but it should be pointing roughly towards it.

I think sometimes my HEq5 has to move both RA and Dec axis quite a long way to actually get Polaris in centre of view due to where it is in relationship to the RA axis.

Somebody more advanced will probably explain much better than I can.

Steve

Edited by teoria_del_big_bang