Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First light - Sky-Watcher Stargate 500p 20" GOTO Dobsonian

Hi all, first light and first impressions with the big Stargate 20” dob. This was definitely a milestone event for me with such a big scope, albeit short-lived due to fatigue and cold, and work early the next morning.

Disclaimer – I am new to astronomy, this is my first telescope in over 35 years since I had a little Tasco 60mm, which I used twice until the focuser fell apart. For what it's worth, I do have an extensive DSLR background and have done some binocular astronomy which has helped things a little. I love binos, but hankered for something powerful to view DSOs with, without the hassle of imaging complications. I’ve spent the past three months reading about telescopes and gear before settling on this dobsonian when one came up for the right price. Of course, I still have a LOT to learn, both about identifying objects in the night sky, and equipment. The good people here have already helped me out considerably. Thank you!

I did my first ever collimation yesterday afternoon using the supplied SW eyepiece. The secondary was rotated about 20deg off, simple fix once I realised why I was staring at the trusses through the pinhole eyepiece, and not the mirror!

I didn’t fiddle with the grub screws for the secondary. The primary mirror collimation took a bit of adjusting since it was removed from the rockerbox on arrival. I had to crank down the spring loaded-collimation knobs more than anticipated so the springs were almost fully compressed. Took about ten to fifteen minutes, relatively painless. I reckon I could always fine tune in the field.

Last night’s ‘mission’ was to simply check collimation and focus, run through night assembly, and then randomly sweep the sky without GOTO or gizmos and hopefully relax and enjoy the views, and then get a few hours' sleep.