Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_lunar_landings.thumb.jpg.b50378d0845690d8a03305a49923eb40.jpg

Do you find 2" eyepieces more engaging? 

Last week I used my 1.25" EP set with my tak. Despite the similar apparent field of view of some eyepieces (e.g. 24 Pan Vs 30 UFF), the 2" offered a more attractive view to my eye.

I'm not talking about the actual field of view, exit pupil difference, or eye relief, so I guess it was down to the larger top lens in the 2" ep. I will try this again next time.

What are your thoughts on this?

• Like 1

Posted (edited)

I often think about this subject as I have a collection of 100 degree eyepieces and a collection of orthos. For general observing I prefer the widefields, there’s so much to see. However, if I’m searching for something faint then I nearly always switch to orthos. This happens the most with my 9mm EPs. The Lunt XWA gives way to the Baader Genuine Ortho. The Ortho has better contrast and transmission but a much, much smaller FOV. I can see faint galaxies with it that are lost in the Lunt. I think the smaller FOV can actually help with this too. My honest conclusion is that it’s the right tool for the job. I wouldn’t want to be without either EP. I would like to try a 10mm Ethos though just to see if the TV quality gives performance closer to the BGO than the Lunt. 

Edited by Littleguy80
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Posted (edited)

The diameter of the eye lens is set by the apparent field of view and the eye relief, so the combination of these two must determine your viewing satisfaction?

comfort.png.d0b20d77ac514b63aecbefece858fda6.png

Left:      tan (afov / 2) = (diam. eye lens /2) / (eye relief)   =>  diam. eye lens = 2 * (eye relief) * tan (afov /2)