Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What do I need?

Looking for tips on kit to build an EEA setup.

I have a Sw 127 mak on azgti.

Android tablet and mac pc.

I would like to live stack to see colour on planets and brighter DSO's

With the availability of software should I get a windows laptop?

So which camera and what software should I be looking at? I always prefer free software.

Cheers

Steve 

Hi Steve

You'll find live stacking options for the Mac are quite limited. Many of us use StarlightLive (free) which is very easy to use yet quite powerful, and was one of (if not the) first to offer live stacking, but this is limited to SX cameras. I've been using it for the last 5 years and have found it excellent. It would be interesting actually to compile a list of solutions for MacOS.

Camera-wise you'll get lots of different opinions. My main interest is in faint DSOs using mono (and filters when I want colour) so I'm probably not the best person to answer (I use a SX Lodestar X2 mono). The key thing is to match your scope and camera using e.g. the calculator at astronomy.tools to ensure you are not severely undersampling and you're getting the type of FOV you need for your interests. Your alt-az mount if already suitable but your scope has a slow focal ratio so ideally would need reducing to f5 or below to be efficient for near-live observing.

cheers

Martin

PS I'm developing an open source EAA program (currently out with testers) which has live stacking, calibration, etc, and which works with Mac (and Windows and Linux) but it doesn't have its own capture engine, so you'd need to sort that aspect out. But there is far more capture software for Mac e.g. http://cloudmakers.eu/astroimager/ (not free but cheap) than live stacking programs so it might be an interesting route for an all-MacOS solution. 

I would love to see how much you will achieve with given scope and mount.