Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2.thumb.jpg.7719b6f2fbecda044d407d8aba503777.jpg

Mark1489

Antares/Rho ophiuchi

Hi all, Not sure if I’ve posted this in the right place!

Is it possible to image Rho Ophiuchi from the UK? If it is, what time of year is best, I’m guessing the summer? I’ve used stellarium to try and figure out when would be best but I’m pretty new to locating things in the sky! Any help would be appreciated! 

Hi Mark and welcome to SGL.

As long as you have a clear southern horizon it possible to image the Rho Ophiuchi region from the UK at least from down south.

It's always low and suffers from imaging though low atmosphere but if you do a search in the imaging section you should find some examples.

Dave

Hi Dave, thanks for the welcome!

Luckily if I travel 20 minutes I have a clear southern horizon with no light domes, so I shall give it a try! Looks like people have had some success! 

Posted (edited)

It is in view now after midnight, until about June.  I have tried to get it from the UK with mixed results.  it's pretty huge, so you need a wide FOV.  

I managed to get it in Spain with a DSLR on a Skytracker a couple of years ago.  Am planning to add to it this year from Spain with a mono camera on the skytracker to get a bit more nebulosity.

When I tried it from East Sussex, the results were pretty horrible with the DSLR, and I managed to get a small area of Luminance once from South Kent.

I'd be interested to see what you manage to get.  

Carole 

Edited by carastro

Hi Carole

Sounds good, I hope it turns out well for you! ? I’m currently using a 135mm lens with a crop sensor, I’m hoping I’ll be able to capture the majority with this! 

Mark 

Hi Mark