SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Wot, no sunspots?

DaveS

I know we're at or near the solar minimum, but I'm not seeing *any* sunspots at all.

Meg90, Lunt Herschel wedge, Baader solar continuum and poleriser, Mead 9mm plössle.

The focus looks good, as the limb is sharp, but wondering, do I need more magnification? Better optics (All through)? More experience? I'm new to this, as I've been looking at something other than just DSO imaging, but cannot see any detail at all. Assuming I need higher magnification to see granulation.

You're not going blind Dave, it is a spotless Sun today. We had a nice little group go across the disk last week but that was the first for a while. Best you can hope for on a regular basis in white light at the moment is some good complex faculae. H alpha and Ca-K are a little more interesting,

Yep, not much going on at the moment. Hopefully we'll have some more activity soon.

Saturday was a beautiful day here. We held a telescope and astrophotography workshop at a state park facility. I setup my Lunt 80 outside and had probably 250 people come through and look. That last little spot was right on the edge and moving away. Some people had a hard time picking it out. Had a few prominences pop up, but nothing really big or lasting. Next time I think I might get a big monitor or a TV and set it up under a canopy so people can see it without having to look through the scope and I can actually point stuff out rather than having to explain it.

1 hour ago, DaveS said:

I know we're at or near the solar minimum, but I'm not seeing *any* sunspots at all.

Meg90, Lunt Herschel wedge, Baader solar continuum and poleriser, Mead 9mm plössle.