SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Please please help

Okay so I bought my girlfriend a telescope for Christmas (a gift she has always wanted as a kid) this was my first Christmas gift to her, but you guessed it we’ve seen nothing.......it’s a celestron cometron firstscope 

tonight was a massive full moon we were using a 10mm lense (it came with another as well but we lost that drunk at Hogmanay) and saw only bright light, no craters nothing apart from bright light......what are we doing wrong.....please no technical terms as I said we are total total beginners hahaha 

thanks steve

5 minutes ago, LunarView said:

With the moon, if it is a very bright moon, you may need a neutral density filter that dims the view a bit, so detail can be seen...

Also focus is critical...

We had the moon in the view finder and tried put the focus bit up and down 

I was looking at the moon this evening with an 8" SCT and I could not see much detail either.  Full moon is the worst time to view the moon.  Any other time you can see detail on the light/dark boundary as the surface features cast a shadow.

1 minute ago, Cosmic Geoff said:

I was looking at the moon this evening with an 8" SCT and I could not see much detail either.  Full moon is the worst time to view the moon.  Any other time you can see detail on the light/dark boundary as the surface features cast a shadow.

Thanks for helping I have no idea what a 8” SCT is hahaha 

There’s nothing wrong with your scope. It’s just the timing that’s bad.

As above, full Moon is not the best time to view. Hang in there and have a look when the Moon is a crescent and trail along the terminator - the line where white turns to black. You’ll be well pleased when you see the shadows showing up craters and mountains. Honest. ?

EDIT: Everybody’s beaten me to it!