Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First light - M51 M101 widefield - star shapes odd?

A very short first light, but I really wanted to try out the camera and lens under the stars.

5 x 60s IOS1600 Nikon D800E and Nikkor 180mm F2.8 lens.

@davew tagged as promised lol

Would anyone mind having a look at the star shapes, esp the bottom right quarter of the image.  I'm new to imaging with a camera lens.

Do you think the focus would have the effect on the stars shapes that is seen here?  I tried stopping down the lens, right to F22, and the shapes on the bottom right stars was still there, but lesser.

The CA is more than I would have expected too, but again maybe this is normal at F2.8 and with this type of lens.

I don't mind if this is what to expect, just want to make sure the lens is ok, as it was expensive.

(I'm going to need a new PC too, my laptop struggled even just opening the massive RAWs, let alone processing 5 subs.  I plan to do some mosaics so that will really test the CPU.

Thanks!

Adam

St-med-300.0s-NR-x_1.0_LZ3-NS-full-qua-add-sc_BWMV_nor-AA-RL-noMBB-St.jpg

St-med-300.0s-NR-x_1.0_LZ3-NS-full-qua-add-sc_BWMV_nor-AA-RL-noMBB-St-1.jpg

I had the same lens and the same issue. I was however using a Canon 450d with it. Even at f5.6 i had problems. This lens gets rave reviews for astrophotography on the web. I sent mine back to the seller on Ebay and replaced it with a Canon 200 mm f2.8 USM which i`m over the moon with. 

I don`t think your problems are as bad as mine though. Over half the frame was unusable. I think an element was misplaced

Alan

1 minute ago, Vixen4eva said:

I had the same lens and the same issue. I was however using a Canon 450d with it. Even at f5.6 i had problems. This lens gets rave reviews for astrophotography on the web. I sent mine back to the seller on Ebay and replaced it with a Canon 200 mm f2.8 USM which i`m over the moon with. 

Alan

Thanks Alan. What do you think I should do here?