Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Grainy and with grid

Hey guys.

I recently lost my financial mind and bought an equatorial mount, Skywatcher EQM 35-pro :). I am terribly pleased with it allthough my better half displayed a somewhat less enthusiastic demeanor when I broke the news ( I took cover behind the couch and threw small pieces of chocolate at her, until she calmed down).

Anyway, cue crappy weather for 3 weeks but then I finaly got a quick run at M42. Only 7 lights and darks, 150secs, ISO I forget, EOS 7 Mark I. Stacked in DSS and enhanced in Startools. Yeah, I went a bit overboard on the red, but I wanted to see the clouds on the right side a bit clearer. Plus, I'm still learning Startools. It was a trade off:

orion.thumb.jpeg.5121e223da50298ed5a9cec950974a04.jpeg

Given I'm using a 127mm Maksutov, I'm not sure I can ask for much more. But it does seem quite 'grainy'. I'm also having trouble keeping the background dark. It's very red.

A week or so later I gave m31 a go. The result was discouraging :(. Take a look:

Andromeda.thumb.jpeg.8b685366596b53b271f9f54b7698b870.jpeg

Incredibly 'grainy' and now with a distinct black-lined grid across the whole picture. 

I pressume the grid has something to do with the sensor on my camera. But how can I avoid it?

Secondly, I realize that my telescope is far from ideal for DSO's. Is the grainy quality just something I'll have to deal with, with this telescope? Or do you have a tip or two that'll help minimize it? And if you suggest getting an apochromatic refractor, my girlfriend will kill you :)!

George