SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Stopping USB extension leads from pulling apart

I have been imaging for 9 years, and this weekend I had to first occasion ever of USB extension cables pulling out.  Not once but twice it happened to two different leads and extension cables on the same evening !!!!  they did not come out completely but enough to cause the camera/filterwheel not to operate.  These are replacement leads for the ones I had previously and been using them for a year or so now without problem.  

Apart from taping them together with gaffer tape which will cause a sticky mess build up, I was just wondering whether anyone had any other unsticky ideas.  

I know people use hubs but I haven't had a lot of success with hubs which work inconsistently.  

Quiet often I don't use the extension cables and can get away with it,  but as I was using my longest scope I didn't want to find the cables stretched out to the point of causing damage.

Thanks

Carole 

If we're talking the extension connector, rather than the connection into equipment...

Five cable ties - one on each cable around the bottom of the cable strain relief, and then two looped through those, plus one over the mating point. This lets you create lateral tension without really hefty clamping or adhesives.

Alternatively, form a loop so you can cable tie one cable to the other - you end up with one cable running back along the side of the connectors. This isn't quite as robust but will work pretty well in my experience.

If you've got something to attach them to, then just putting a cable tie on each side through a rigid support behind the cable strain reliefs will work fine.

Reusable cable ties will work if you need to disconnect anything; with some of these you can use velcro ties, but try it and see what inspires most confidence.

• Like 1

Thanks Guys, some ideas there, but I think I might give the expensive one a miss lol.