Narrowband

20-25mm Televue Panoptic perhaps?

Mike_S

Hi, I am a beginner really. I have a 10 inch dobsonian F4.7 with various eyepieces but I’m looking to improve my wide field view to find DSO’s.

I have a Pentax XW5mm for planets which I like (it’s very comfortable to use). I could get one in 20mm but thinking of trying the Televue Panoptic 24mm?

also Explore Scientfic do 24mm 68 and 82 degrees? 

• Replies 49
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not much to choose between the Panoptic 24mm and the Explore Scientific 24mm to be honest with you.

At F/4.7 the Panoptic might be better corrected at the field edges. Close call though.

What is getting in the way of you finding DSO's ? - a good star chart and a red dot / illluminated reticule finder might be a better investment than an expensive widefield eyepiece.

I have a telrad but really I’m just learning the sky and have a lot to learn still. I have a book as well. I have star charts too. I have 10x50 binos as well for finding stuff. I mostly use the standard 20mm that was supplied which is okay but as I use it quite a bit I thought it would be nice to upgrade it. Thanks. 

3 hours ago, MSammon said:

What would you recommend for a 2 inch eyepiece? Say up to £300. 

If you have £300 to spend, that would buy a very nice 2” low power eyepiece.  If it were myself, I’d get a 24 to 28mm wide field from Explore Scientific or TeleVue for top performance.  The TV 24mm Panoptic is lovely, or the 27mm has longer eye relief if you wear glasses to observe.  If you go for an even lower power, that would give wider field of view, but you may not like the bright sky background especially if you observe from town.

All the best in your choice, Ed.

Go for the ES 82° 24mm. I’ve owned both.

The Panoptic is light weight gem. But the 82° is wide! There is a lot of difference between 68° and 82° at the eyepiece at the longer end. The ES performs very well in this scope. 

Paul