Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

NGC 3031 & 3034 Widefield

SamAndrew

AKA M81 & M82 (but made you look ?)

Also featuring NGC 3077 (top right), NGC 2076 (middle left), NGC 2959 & 2961 (Lower left) and numerous other galaxies. 

This is my first attempt at an LRGB image. lots to learn! A work in progress, but having spent all evening processing it I thought I'd share.

Most of the data was captured this week, although a few frames were captured in January. Around 5.5 hours of Lum, and a fairly measly 45mins for each of the colours. I left the scope running all night unattended for the Lum, which was a first and I was amazed it all worked and I woke up to find it nicely parked up with all the frames usable. Transparency on the night i took the colour frames was awful, but I plan to get some more colour when I get chance. All 5 minute subs @ Gain 0.

Not happy with my flats on the colour frames, I ended up with a very uneven background, especially on the red channel, so I've had to dial the red down a bit in the background, hence the colour balance is a bit off. I will have to have another go there.

Overall quite happy with the detail in the galaxies @ 100% zoom, considering my setup isn't a galaxy hunter and my skies are terrible (Bortle 8). The background is quite painfully noisy, I will see if I can improve on that on the next processing attempt. but looks like I'll be stuck shooting LRGB for the next few months until the nebula come back around.

Equipment: Star71, AZ-EQ5, ZWO 1600MC.

Any feedback welcome :)

LRGB.jpg

LRGB_Complete_100v2.jpg

I like the wide field of view. Very nice.

On my screen (MacBook Pro) the image appears quite green. I ran it through SCNR in PixInsight to reduce green throughout the image and then set the background to R:G:B - 23:23:23 in Photoshop and in my opinion it looks a whole lot better on my screen. Others may have a different view/advice.

HTH