Narrowband

R, G and B Exposure Questions

Hi everyone,

I have been using a mono CMOS cam + filters setup for about 6-7 months now and I'm fairly comfortable in terms of LRGB DSO imaging. Comfortable as in basic competency...still tons to learn of course! As such, I wanted to go a bit deeper into the RGB side of things.

Up to now, in terms of total exposure time, I've been basically shooting 50% Lum and 50% RGB, with the latter evenly split. However...with my filters, the R exposures need to be twice as long as the G and B exposures to achieve the same ADU (about 1400-1500 ADU per exposure for each channel at unity gain) - 60 seconds for R and 30 seconds for G and B. Results have been good, but my questions are:

(1) By shooting the same exposure time across R, G and B, I end up with half the number of R subs; am I right to say that I am capturing less R data than G and B, even if total exposure time is the same across each channels? For every 10 R subs, I get 20 G and B subs, but in ADU terms for R, I get 10 x 1400, versus 20 x 1400 for G and B.

(2) If that is the case, I suppose I can fix this by either (a) shooting twice as much R exposure as individual G and B, so an exposure ratio of 2:1:1 or (b) increasing the gain on the R filter to try and get the exposure time to reach the same ADU per sub similar to G and B. Is this the right way to think about it?

(3) That got me thinking about whether it makes sense to capture the same R, G and B total exposure (in terms of ADU) at all....for e.g. I have often read that there is not much green in space, so does it actually make sense to capture less G, for example, relative to R and B? Is there a theoretical colour channel ratio optimal for DSO imaging? My concern about varying the ratios too much would be messing up star colour...

...question (3) is the one I find most fascinating and I would love to see what others think about it!

Sorry for the long post and thanks for getting this far!