Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_globular_clusters_winners.thumb.jpg.13b743f39f721323cb5d76f07724c489.jpg

yong54321

How to see (maybe via imaging) the spiral arms of a galaxy?

Hello

As I am a beginner in astronomy, I would like to ask for help before I spend more money on buying more ineffective equipments. My hope is to see the spiral arm of a galaxy, not just the core. I start with meade mini 114 but I cannot see any galaxy. But with my camera 30 sec exposure, I manage to see just the core of M83. So I go on and buy a Dob 8". It turns out I still cannot see the spiral arms, only the core is available. My next step could be

1. buy video cam like macllincam. I read they can see thru light pollution and see galaxy in a few second. I am located in Singapore. Do anyone has any success with similar setup?

2. buy manual meade polaris eq130 telescope and do imaging so that i can see the spiral arms? Use the eq motor drive? 

3. buy goto telescope alt/muz. Celestron SLT 130 or starnavigator NG 102. and do more stacking. Or need bigger aperture?

4. buy goto eq mount? This looks expensive.

5. Other solution that i am not aware of.

Thanks for any comments and help. I do not know which way to turn and it seems like a long way before i can enjoy a galaxy... M83 is shown as a "star" near the northwest of the cross hair in my attached photo.

regards

yong54321

m83 1x30sec full resolution 220219.png

Edited by yong54321

I don;' think it is easy to see the spiral arms visually, though I could be wrong if you have a huge telescope.  Imaging is the best bet, but it is not a cheap hobby and you rightly say use an equatorial mount that tracks and preferably will guide as well.