Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Exposure time

Hi,

Since august 2018 i've started imaging, for now i always use my ED80 for deepsky and my Mak127 for lunar.

But that's not wat this is about, this just shows i'm still quite new to this and mostly it's trial and error as i go along.

I see some of you take 600sec subs, and i wonder is this to be preferred over say 2x300 sec exposures instead ?

Taking 600 sec subs is no problem, i got my tracking technique down, but isn't there a point up on witch there's nothing more to gain except noise ?

I usually don't go further than 300 sec, and make sure my histogram peaks (in Backyard EOS) are not in the third overexposed section.

Surely filters are a big factor in this, i know.

Thanks

It is always better to use less longer subs than more shorter subs if they add to same total imaging time.

This is due to read noise. All other noise sources depend on time (shot, LP, thermal), but only read noise depends on number of exposures.

However this dependence is not trivial one. Once read noise becomes much smaller than any other noise source - difference between SNR of short exposure stack and long exposure stack becomes also very small. On the other hand, there are things associated with long exposures that hurt your data collection. Saturation / clipping in bright areas is one of those things. Need for precise guiding is another. You increase likelihood of dropped frames due to excessive wind, cloud, airplanes passing by, whatever might happen - longer the sub, greater the chance for something to go wrong, and if it does - more imaging time wasted if you end up discarding that frame.

So what would be good sub length where you enter "diminishing returns" part? It really depends on your camera (CCD has higher read noise - therefore it usually needs longer subs), your conditions (Heavy LP will very quickly build LP related noise that will become dominant), etc ...