SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

dark-bias-flat subtraction

hi all, 

I'm about halfway through ''making very photon count''... although not the lightest read I've ever read, some parts of it, maybe over 60% has ''gone in''.....

I've read and re-read about dark frame, bias frame and flats subtraction, the author says that these should be subtracted from the ''lights'', I think this is just a word he is referencing for the word ''subs'' which I now understand........ anyway, he only mentions that this must be done but not how to do it, is it a case of reading on or have I missed something......

I am feeling a little overwhelmed by the amount of information I'm wanting to absorb, Im also wondering if maybe I should go to my local astronomy club and meet people to see it happen hands on... I am an engineer and have always learned things so much better seeing it, rather than from a book.... 

I have many questions but don't want to crash this website ?

thanks in advance, jon 

10 minutes ago, jonnydreads said:

local astronomy club

Hi. Highly recommended. It is so much easier that way. You also get to see and have hands on experience of any gear you have in mind before you buy. Between them, they'll be able to put together just about anything you can imagine. You'll be up and running in a fraction of the time and if you have a problem, you'll be in contact with those who can sort it out live and in person

Just bear in mind that everyone will have their own ideas on what's best, but none of them know what's best for you;)

HTH.

1 hour ago, jonnydreads said:

I've read and re-read about dark frame, bias frame and flats subtraction, the author says that these should be subtracted from the ''lights'', I think this is just a word he is referencing for the word ''subs''

Hi Jon, 

"lights" is, as you imagined, short for "light frames".